Photo: Lars Skaaning 2014

Pelle Price 2023

Musikhuset København

4/6 2023, 15:00

Vesterbrogade 59, 1620 København

At the concert with Esbjerg Ensemble, KLANG-Festival's very own prize, the Pelle-Prize, named after the legendary composer Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen, will be awarded for the seventh time.

In recognition of the fact that great music is not only about what is written in the score, for the first time in the history of the award, two awards will be presented this year – one to a composer and one to a musician. KLANG-Festival wishes to pay tribute to the special meeting that takes place between the composers who, like Gudmundsen-Holmgreen, are not afraid to go against the norms of the time – the composers who push music in new, unforeseen directions – and the excellent musicians who, with a mixture of incomparable skill and artistic fervour, realize the music, give it body and nerve, and allow it to exist in space and time.

As always, the awardees are kept secret until the very moment of the award ceremony. The awardees receive - in addition to the honor - 15,000 kroner each. The prize has previously been awarded to the composers Jeppe Ernst, James Black, Mette Nielsen, Jens Peter Møller, Marcela Lucatelli and Xavier Bonfill. The jury consists of composer Bent Sørensen, soprano Signe Asmussen, representatives from KLANG Festival and Edition Wilhelm Hansen, who published Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen's compositions, and not least his widow, the artist Karin Birgitte Lund.