Open Form / Jonas Frølund: Solo clarinet

Musikhuset København

5/6 2023, 21:30

Vesterbrogade 59, 1620 København


NOTE: Online ticket sales close 1 hour before the concert begins. Tickets can then be bought at the door on the venue.

If you buy a day ticket, you also get access to the concert: Norbotten NEO: THE LULLABIE OF THE NIGHT

Images as notation – and a clarinet virtuoso. The independently improvising interpreter of the future comes into his own!

Ears as well as eyes are provided with the opportunity to explore expressive and remarkable universes when clarinetist Jonas Frølund presents a concert in which five very different works are visually accompanied by projections of graphic notations. The results are often surprising and thought-provoking: Music played from small doodles by Irish Anna Murray; an elaborate progression amazingly yet simply notated by German Barbara Heller; a dizzyingly complex visual work by the Greek-Bulgarian avant-garde legend Anestis Logothetis; an interweaving of connections between traditionally notated melody, graphic textures, and images inspired by old scripts – almost as if we are witnessing the primal state of the composition – by Korean Ge-Suk Yeo.

The concert is presented in collaboration with Open Form Festival and is curated by founder Carl Bergstrøm-Nielsen. Since 2011, Open Form Festival has taken place as a biennial in Copenhagen, which has presented musical modernism from home and abroad as well as newly written works. The festival's mission is to contemporize the inherited artistic and technical insights of classical music compositions through performances of "open" compositions. The idea is to make the built-in structures of music visible and integrate them into the concert experience – for example, by showing that music is not only created by individuals, but often arises in interactions, not only between musicians but also with the audience. In addition to this concert, KLANG-Festival and Open Form will present a concert on Wednesday the 7th of June in Musikhuset's ballroom.


Anna Murray: Postcard Pieces (2021)
Laura Toxværd: Keys (2019)
Barbara Heller: Spielpläne. Graphische Komposition für ein Soloinstrument (1995)
Anestis Logothetis: Katalysator (1960)
Ge-Suk Yeo: Sound Scapes (2001)


Jonas Frølund

Anna Murray

Laura Toxværd

Barbara Heller

Anestis Logothetis

Ge-Suk Yeo / SUUG