Photo: Red Star

Esbjerg Ensemble: Riis og Pelle-Prize

Musikhuset København

4/6 2023, 15:00

Vesterbrogade 59, 1620 København


NOTE: Online ticket sales close 1 hour before the concert begins. Tickets can then be bought at the door on the venue.

Esbjerg Ensemble was founded in 1967 as the first professional chamber ensemble in Denmark. Since then, the ensemble has played the entire canon of classical music and has made a name for itself with an inspired and versatile program that has, among other things, included collaborations with noteworthy Danish composers such as Bent Sørensen, Per Nørgård, and Hans Abrahamsen. The tradition of collaborating with courageous and forward-looking composers continues at this year's festival, where KLANG-Festival's composer in residence (2022-2024) Morten Riis has written the purely acoustic piece Glemsel [Oblivion] for Esbjerg Ensemble.

The focal point in Glemsel is remembrance and reminiscence – the way our memories are constantly in motion, weathering, transforming, slipping away. The work is inspired by old tape recorders: devices whose way of "remembering" is a lot like that of humans. Like an audio recording on an old tape, the memories we have embedded in our brains slowly become increasingly noisy, distorted, and indistinct. This way of remembering stands in stark contrast to modern digital technology, where memories can be stored forever without being marked by it. Glemsel stages this problem through a slow and minimalist transformation of tone into noise. Weathered memories are transformed into new memories – new realizations.

In addition to the premiere of Glemsel, the concert offers works by the Ukrainian composer, sound artist and violinist Katarina Gryvul and by Pelle Gudmundsen Holmgreen – a composer who has his own unmistakable style and who is so important to KLANG-Festival that our prize, the Pelle Prize, has been named after him. This year, the prize will be awarded on the occasion of this particular concert.


Pelle Gudmunssen Holmgreen: Plateaux pour deux
Katarina Gryvul: Ergot

PAUSE - awarding of Pelle Prize

Athanasia Kotronia: Krans av armar
Morten Riis: Glemsel (Uropførelse)


Esbjerg Ensemble

Pelle Gudmundsen Holmgreen

Katarina Gryvul

Morten Riis

Athanasia Kotronia