Photo: Trine Pihl Stanley



2/6 2023, 21:30

Blågårds Pl. 6A
2200 København


NOTE: Online ticket sales close 1 hour before the concert begins. Tickets can then be bought at the door on the venue.

If you buy a day ticket you also get access to the concert: Ensemble Temporum: Vortex Temporum

In a time of political division and international conflicts, the Danish guitar sextet, CRAS Ensemble, has invited a composer from each of the Nordic countries to create a joint piece that explores that which we have in common as Nordic neighbors.

The composers are Pernille Sejlund from Denmark, Zoe Efstathiou from Sweden, Anna Katrin Egilstrøð from the Faroes, Kristin Bolstad from Norway, Bergrún Snæbjörnsdóttir from Iceland, and Maija Hynninen from Finland. Over two four-day workshops, where CRAS rented a villa in the Copenhagen suburbs in which everyone was invited to stay, the six composers had the opportunity to experiment and collaborate on a work that focuses on the values that unite us.

At the beginning of the workshop, the composers were given the task of bringing an ingredient from each of their home countries to be used for a grand dinner which was prepared by everyone. Similarly, the two workshops included activities that explored the participants' personal backgrounds and national traits, for instance by using personal items from their past. The meal and the activities as well as the rest of the artistic process were about teamwork and being open to new paths. The goal was to share ideas and have the individual strengths of the composers come together for the common good – just like in the final piece of music, where all the different artistic expressions create a whole that exceeds the sum of the parts.


CRAS Ensemble: [these are the] THINGS WE USED TO HOLD ON TO (performance)
Kristin Bolstad (NO): circle O line
Maija Hynninen (FIN): Rain patterns
Zoe Efstathiou (SE): Chironomia
Pernille Sejlund (DK): Stringing the beads
Anna Katrin Egilstrøð (FO): Where are the things I used to hold on to?
Bergrún Snæbjörnsdóttir (IS): Headfirst into earth

Musicians and produced by:
CRAS Ensemble

Louise Beck

Supported by:
Nordisk Kulturfond
Nordisk Kulturkontakt
Dansk Komponistforening
Dansk Musiker Forbund Statens Kunstfond
Knud Højgaards Fond

Art Music Denmark
Norsk Kulturråd

Duration 65 min.


CRAS Ensemble

Kristin Bolstad

Maija Hynninen

Zoe Efstathiou

Pernille Sejlund

Anna Katrin Egilstrøð

Bergrún Snæbjörnsdóttir