Photo: Gert Sørensen

Ensemble K!ART


Musikhuset København

15/6 2022, 20:00

Vesterbrogade 59, 1620 København


It will be nothing but a breathtaking marathon of a concert when the concert series Moderne Mandag [Modern Monday] presents the Copenhagen-based Ensemble K!ART performing no less than eight different works. Moderne Mandag, since its inception in 2016, has had a special focus on works by 20th century Danish modernists, while Ensemble K!ART, which often operates in the intersection of music and performance art, primarily performs works by the very latest composers within contemporary experimental music. Thus, Ensemble K!ART's concert on Modern Monday becomes a kind of musical dialogue across generations, accentuating the lineages between the past and the present.

The program ranges from works by canonized modernist legends such as Gunnar Berg and Axel Borup-Jørgensen to premieres of wide-ranging works written specifically for the concert: Serbian composer Sara Stevanovic's work when the bashful hands assume silence beyond the pink hollyhock existence, which is inspired by the French philosopher Gilles Deleuze, Swedish Ylva Lund Bergner's BE: all-out ("Speak, Dodona"), where the music restlessly searches for a place able to create power and hope, and Danish Jens Peter Møller, who enigmatically describes his work as a musical Facebook feed: "a continuous stream of information, designed to demand the listener's full attention, without filter and without interrelationship"; a description that seems just as relevant to the concert as a whole.

Entry: 120 kr / Student 60 kr

Whole evening ticket incl. this concert + MiniMoog the Project / Sebastian Berweck (9:00 PM): 150kr / Student 75kr

Discount card to some of KLANGs concerts costs 140 kr. Buy it here.


Sara Stevanovic: when the bashful hands assume silence beyond the pink hollyhock existence (10-15 min.) World Premiere
Gunnar Berg: Tronqué for Cello, Marimba and Piano (1969) (8 min)
Jens Peter Møller: passing clouds (10-15 min.) World Premiere
Ylva Lund Bergner: BE: all-out ("Speak, Dodona") (13-15 min.) World Premiere
Axel Borup-Jørgensen: Carambolage (1976-77) (16 min).
Joanna Bailie: He just missed the train (2019) (16 min)

The concert is supported by Statens Kunstfond, KODA Kultur / Musikforlæggerne og Dansk Komponistforening, Borup-Jørgensen Fonden, ACTUM Kopi&Tryk og Bastet&Bundet Blomster.

The piece by Ylva Lund Bergner is supportet by Statens Kunstfond.

The piece Jens Peter Møller is supportet by Dansk Komponistforening & KODA kultur and Statens Kunstfond.