Open Form Festival



28/5 2021, 21:00

Møllegade 7
2200 København N


The thickets also covers koncert with Bára Gísladóttir at 8 PM.

When composers let go of control of the music, there is a natural place for the performer. Suddenly, the musician gets a free space and the opportunity to take critical and creative ownership of the work. This is the foundational idea behind the Open Forms, which since 2011 have had their own festival in Copenhagen, the Open Form Festival.

Since 2017, the musicians in the Open Form Ensemble have played their way into the open territories and into each other. They have also all contributed their own works, and it is they who are at the center this evening in LiteraturHaus, where Open Form Festival and KLANG Festival for the first time make a joint effort for the open music.

Saxophonist Laura Toxværd enters the avant-garde area. Singer Malene Bichel is behind brand new meditative compositions. Pianist Alexis Porfiriadis seeks out the individual among a flock of independent voices. Valdhornist Carl Bergstrøm-Nielsen explores and challenges the interaction between the musicians. And vocalist Agnes Ponizil frees minimalism from the meter.

All the time, the music takes place in close contact with both tradition and the present. The history of music resonates while the performers occupy the works and focus on musical processes and details full of energy and diversity.


Pieces by: Laura Toxværd, Malene Bichel, Alexis Porfiriadis, Carl Bergstrøm-Nielsen, Agnes Ponizil

The concert is presented in collaboration with Open Form Festival, that was founded by Carl Bergstrøm-Nielsen in 2011 after inspiration from Else Olsen Storesund's similar festival in Oslo. Since then, the Open Form Festival has taken place as a biennial in Copenhagen, presenting musical modernism from home and abroad as well as completely new works. This year, the festival has entered into a collaboration with KLANG Festival, and in addition to tonight's concert, a concert curated by Toke Odin will also be presented on Monday 7 June in Brønshøj Water Tower.


Marie Wärme

Dean Delgiusto

Malene Bichel

Carl Bergstrøm-Nielsen