Photo: Lisbeth Holten

Niels Rosing Schow: A talk of our time


Konservatoriets Koncertsal

31/10 2020, 16:00

Julius Thomsens Gade 1, 1974 Frederiksberg C

Free entrance

Through the years Niels Rosing-Schow has established a close collaboration with Athelas Sinfonietta. At this concert the focus is on older pieces, some of which are presented in new editions, and not less than two premieres: a recomposed version of Rosing-Schow's Saxophone Concerto and a piano concerto written for right hand alone, All Right!?.

The music of Niels Rosing-Schow is sonorous and saturated in colours, but always holding a certain implicit lightness or room for light and air. The way in which for instance solo instruments are allowed to invade the ensemble and getting adjusted to new surroundings and expressions, is a fascinating element in the pieces by Rosing-Schow.
Athelas Sinfonietta supplies other soloists to the concert as well: Hélène Navasse plays the solo for bass flute in FlashNight, and Manuel Esperilla plays the solo part in the newly written piano concerto All Right!?.

The third soloist of the concert is saxophonist Jeanette Balland, who premiered Niels Rosing-Schow's Saxophone Concerto, written and dedicated to her, together with Danish National Symphony Orchestra in 2004. In this version, Episodes From a Concerto for a smaller ensemble, the relationship between the soloist and the 'band' is maintained, while the ensemble are now working more as an extention of the soloist's expression or a receiving sounding board than as an interlocutor or an opponent.

The concert's title is A Talk of Our Time, and on the programme is also one of Rosing-Schow's most recent pieces for ensemble, Distant Calls, written for Athelas Sinfonietta.


Niels Rosing-Schow: Episodes from a Concerto (2003/2020) - NEW VERSION PREMIER

Niels Rosing-Schow: All Right !? (2020)


Niels Rosing-Schow: Distant Calls (Songs and Moves) (2018)

Niels Rosing-Schow: FlashNight (2016)

Niels Rosing-Schow: Unspoken - unheard  - WORLD PREMIER


Athelas Sinfonietta

Jean Thorel

Hélène Navasse

Jeanette Balland

Manuel Esperilla