Photo: Helene Krag Jespersen


Concerto Copenhagen & Athelas Sinfonietta


Archive: 6/6 2018, 17:00

Blågårds Pl. 6A
2200 København


Sprouted tones from a baroque ensemble and newly composed tones from a contemporary composer. Eventually, new works are being produced, which are composed for early music ensembles around the world. The composers are delighted with the old instruments, and the ensembles play the new music with excess and intensity. Concerto Copenhagen started a collaboration with Karl Aage Rasmussen five years ago, and it developed into a permanent collaboration for a number of years. And it is difficult to imagine a composer more immediately suited to working with Concerto Copenhagen than Karl-Aage Rasmussen; curious, immensely knowledgeable, witty and sharp - also as a composer. The result has been pieces where the tradition of renaissance and baroque is fully present in sound and composition, and where listeners are placed somewhere unmistakably our present. A fruitful, heartfelt and well-meaning cooperation.

At the concert, another ensemble plays who knows Rasmussen's music well: it's Athelas Sinfonietta, who performs Karl Aage Rasmussen's violin concert Sinking Through the Dream Mirror. There are four parts in the piece, the first two of which are played in one: Prelude, Scherzo, Passacaglia and Rondo. The music, according to the composer, is a melody that sinks in many pace throughout the work until it slowly dissolves in the dream mirror.


Concerto Copenhagen:

Karl Aage Rasmussen: Koncert for barok obo (2015)
Karl Aage Rasmussen: Koncert for barok violin (2016/17) UROPFØRELSE


Karl Aage Rasmussen: Sinking Through the Dream Mirror (1993)


Magnus Fryklund

Alfredo Bernardini

Fredrik From

Anne Søe

Concerto Copenhagen

Athelas Sinfonietta Copenhagen